Are prawns halal?

Are prawns halal? The prawn is a delicious marine animal. Prawn recipes in famous restaurants and delicious dishes are made with prawns. 

All those foods are very healthy. People from different parts of the world have been consuming shrimp as an ingredient in their diet for ages. 

People have a clear and positive perception of prawns. But what is the rule for eating shrimp from the Islamic point of view? 

You know Islam presents a unique way of life to people, and every object is broken down and analyzed there. As such, you are eating prawns in Islam is halal or haram. 

Today in this particular article of ours, we are thoroughly discussing whether eating prawns is halal or not.

Are prawns halal?

Prawns are generally considered halal based on most scholars’ opinion, who says that all kinds of sea creatures are halal.

Except for some animals like frogs, crocodile turtles, etc. Marine animals have different nutritional qualities.

Moreover, these animals do not produce any harmful effects on the body. Many Hanafi jurists say that eating all types of sea creatures is haram except for fish.

Many scholars in India and Pakistan have opined that eating prawns is Makruh Tahrimi, and he thinks prawns do not belong to marine animals.

Evidence that prawns are halal

Those who call prawns halal usually say that no Quranic verse or hadith declares marine animals haram.

A fundamental principle of Islamic Shari’ah is that until a portion of food is declared haram, it remains halal.

Again in a verse of the Holy Quran, it is said –

ﻗُﻞْ ﻣَﻦْ ﺣَﺮَّﻡَ ﺯِﻳﻨَﺔَ ﺍﻟﻠَّﻪِ ﺍﻟَّﺘِﻲ ﺃَﺧْﺮَﺝَ ﻟِﻌِﺒَﺎﺩِﻩِ ﻭَﺍﻟﻄَّﻴِّﺒَﺎﺕِ ﻣِﻦَ ﺍﻟﺮِّﺯْﻕِ

Translation: Say: Who has prohibited the adornment of Allah, which He has created for His servants, and the sacred food items? {Surah Araf-32}

احل لكم صيد البحر وطعامه متاعا لكم

Translation: Hunting the sea and its food has been lawful for you.

From this verse, it is proved that the hunting of marine animals is halal. Be it any animal. However, certain animals are forbidden in another hadith, like Byng each chap, etc.

In a hadith, a companion asked the Messenger of Allah – may peace and blessings be upon him – what can he eat, and what should he avoid while traveling by sea?

‘The waters’ water and its mortal life are lawful. (Tirmidhi, Hadith: 69)

prawns in the Hanafi Madhhab

Hanafi Madhhab scholars say – It is not permissible to eat all aquatic animals except fish. (Badayus Sanayi: 5/35)

This is the opinion of Imam Abu Hanifa, Sufyan Sawri (R.A.), and many other faqihs. According to Ibn Hajar Askalani (R.A.), this is also the reliable opinion of the Shafi’i Madhhab. (Fathul Bari 9/419)

They said nowadays, many people are seen eating prawns, crabs, frogs, etc., which are forbidden to eat.

Because Allah, the Exalted, mentions the qualities of the successful believers and says, “And for themselves the best things are lawful, and the worst things are forbidden. (Surah: Araf, verse: 157)

Imam Marginani (R.A.) wrote, No animal except fish can be eaten from among aquatic animals. Because God Almighty has forbidden bad things, all water creatures are inferior except fish. (Hedaya 4/353)

In essence, it is proven that it is not permissible to eat any animal from among aquatic animals except fish. Because fish is the only noble halal thing among marine animals, and the rest are evil and vile things.

Therefore, according to Hanafi Madhhab, eating prawns is not permissible. But it is also not haram. Rather Makruh Tahrimi. And Bangladeshi scholars do not think it is Makrah.

Opinions of Islamic scholars

Dr. Zakir Naik said that all fresh and healthy sea waters are halal.

It is clearly stated in the Qur’an that the best things are made lawful from among the sea creatures.
What good means here is that it improves health, increases body strength, and helps build our body.

It is acceptable for us to take that which will not create any side effects.

Although many people say it is makruh and many people say it is haram, the truth is that marine animals can be eaten as halal shrimps.

CONCLUSION

We have discussed the marine animal shrimp in this article of ours.

Is it halal or haram to eat? We find here first that most Islamic scholars call it halal.

For them, the documents of the Qur’an and Hadith are also very strong and acceptable.

Many others call it makruh and haram, and those given are relatively acceptable.
However, the opinion that shrimp is halal is also.

We would therefore ask for acceptance as the documents are more vital.

Therefore, a Muslim from any part of the world can eat shrimp, which is halal. It will not be a sin for him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *